Black men, Black Women, Blog, dreams, Random, Writing

Ti Fi Rèv (Dream Girl)

So, time for an aberrant post. I had the uncanniest experience and I’m hoping to share it and hear y’all’s feedback. Bear with me.

So I’ve definitely never felt spiritually powered or anything before. Nor have I ever felt like I had visions or premonitions from dreams or what have you. I never doubted other people’s truth, it just wasn’t mine. But last night I dreamt I was back home in Oakland walking up 22nd toward Fruitvale and stopped to chop it up with some Asians who lived on that street and owned a nail shop.

Now my memory of the convo is hazy. But I slipped up and let it be known I had like 400 dollars in my back pack (I know. That was a gentrifier’s mistake). What’s important though is that I reaveal the money was in a particular spot on my back pack. The conversation progresses and I put the money away.

Later on, I get to my car, which is parked on Fruitvale, and have a urge to check that spot on my bag. Low and behold my money is gone. At that moment, I know I got played by the Asian fam I was choppin it up with. I look up and over to the other side of Fruitvale and see the Asian chick in her car, laughing and holding my lil 400 dollars.

Now, fast forward on the ass whooping she got. I wake up today say to myself “I gotta take that money out of my bag before leaving for school.”. However, I’m rushing to get out on time and forget about that thought. But I’m sure to double check I zipped my bag before I start walking from the school parking lot to campus.

Low and behold, I get to class and eventually realize the exact zipper location my money was in, in my dream, was open. Not only open, but the zipper stopped working. No matter how I slid it. The pouch stayed open.

Now, thank God and the ancestors that my money was in place. But, I’m thinkin’ it was a sign that my dreams are becoming powerful. Premonitions even. Someone knew I wouldn’t heed them on my own. So this was a harmless lesson to trust my subconcious; to trust myself? Or what? What ya’ll think? Coincidence? Whacky dream from too much Charmed? Or what?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.